

Mississippi River Parkway Commission Board of Directors Meeting October 23, 2018 (draft)

Participants:

- -Karl Samp -Pilot
- -Terri McCullough Pilot Pro Tem
- -Martin Graber (IA-MRPC)
- -Derick Biglane (MS-MRPC)
- -Joe St. Columbia (AR-MRPC)
- -Sherry Quamme (WI-MRPC Proxy)
- -Nicole Jones (KY-MRPC proxy)
- -Anne Lewis (MN-MRPC Proxy)

- -Carol Zoff Transportation
- -Ruth Hawkins Culture & Heritage
- -Sheronne Mulry Culture & Heritage
- -Norma Pruitt Marketing
- -Nani Bhowmik ERA
- -Greg Pruitt Past Pilot
- -Susanne Barnet National Office
- -Lyn Pilch National Office

Pilot called the meeting to order at 3:00pm.

- Past Meeting Minutes from 7/13/18 Motion to approve by AR. Second by Pilot Pro Tem. Motion carried.
- **Financial Report sent via email as of 9/30/18.** Motion to approve by WI. Second by AR. Motion carried.
- MRCC Update –Pilot Pro Tem indicated that John Anfinson with the National Park Service is in attendance representing MRCC. More information regarding the future of MRCC and the geotourism website will be available in the future.
- Relay of Voices Motion was made by MN to rework agreement to focus exclusively on marketing
 such as our logo presence on the event website, to omit all mentions of non-marketing including road
 conditions and to provide appropriate indemnification language that protects the MRPC from any
 legal action related to the event. An updated version should be included for review in the December
 meeting. Second by AR. Motion carried.
- **CMP Adoption** Committees will review and provide revisions, so a final copy can be reviewed during the December board meeting.
- **Sponsorship** Motion was made by Pilot Pro Tem to approve the top level of the sponsorship plan and for the marketing committee to look at creating lower levels that will be reviewed at the December meeting. Second by IA. Motion carried.
- State Membership Benefits The Pilot reviewed the existing handout created to aid states in paying dues. The national office will collect information on how each state is funded and provide it at the December meeting.
- **Award Approvals** –Motion was made to approve Edith Pfeffer as an honorary member by WI. Second by MN. Motion carried.

Motion was made to approve Sheldon Johnson as Distinguished Service Award recipient by WI. Second by IA. Motion carried.

- National Office Updates The national office briefly reviewed the third quarter report.
- Other Business The Semi-Annual Meeting will take place in Clarksdale, Mississippi April 2-4, 2019.

Meeting adjourned at 4:34pm.